Whitehead’s McKeown is one of five new faces for IBA Under-25 series


Northern Ireland Bowling Association selectors have named five new faces in the team to contest next month’s IBA Under-25 Series at Belmont.

Whitehead’s Ryan McKeown has been handed a debut along with Deriece Anderson (Carrick), William Sweetlove (Londonderry Park), Jack Moffett (Rathfriland) and Dromore’s Nathan Haire.

The tournament, hosted by the Bowling League of Ireland, will be played on Friday and Saturday, July 17-18.

NIBA Under-25 team: Rink one: R McKeown (Whitehead), D Anderson (Carrick), J Montgomery (Whitehead), M Crawford (Bangor). Rink two: A Johnston (Dromore), W Sweetlove (Londonderry Park, S Beggs (Whitehead), C Dorman (Donaghadee).

Rink three: M Hastings (Bangor), M Albert (Balmoral), T Carson (Bangor), T McClean (Sydenham).

Rink four: S Jess (Lisnagarvey), J Moffett (Rathfriland), N Haire (Dromore), W Boyd (Donaghadee).

Reserves: D Bodles (Carrick), L Carson (Sydenham), G Dawson (Sydenham), C Mackender (Castle).