POOL: Ibrox’s Johnston wins Bowen Memorial title

Winner Stephen Johnston (left) and runner-up Tommy Morrow (right). INLT 05-913-CON
Winner Stephen Johnston (left) and runner-up Tommy Morrow (right). INLT 05-913-CON

Ibrox’s Stephen Johnston has been crowned Larne Pool League’s Richard Bowen Memorial champion for 2016.

In a high quality final, Johnston defeated Q Pool’s Tommy Morrow by six frames to four to clinch the title and add a new name to the coveted trophy.

In league action, it became a two-horse title race as Q Pool went down to Q Club thanks to a gutsy performance from Neil McFaul’s team who won 9-7.

Lee Topping bagged a well-earned hat-trick with Wayne Lewis winning the decider for the underdogs.

Champions-elect, the Saints, and defending champions Thatch both had comfortable wins against each other’s ‘B’ teams, Thatch Rockets and St Comgall’s respectively. Johnny Nelson and Ryan McKillop both with hat-tricks for the Thatch.

Ibrox move into third with a good 10-5 win over the tricky Tech Torandoes while Feathers also turned their attentions to third with a 10-5 wins over the No. 1 Blues.

No.1 Reds had Glynn Williams to thank as he won 4/4 to earn the away team a 9-7 win over the Freewheelers.

Elsewhere, there were 9-6 wins for Station Bar and Gers who were at home respectively to Ruby’s and Clonlee.

Results: Tech Tornadoes 5-10 Ibrox; No. 1 Blues 5-10 Feathers; St Comgall’s 3-12 Thatch; Q. Club 9-7 Q Pool; Thatch Rockets 5-10 Saints; Freewheelers 7-9 No. 1 Reds; Station Bar 9-6 Ruby’s Bar; Gers 9-6 Clonlee.

Fixtures (February 4): Ibrox v No 1 Blues; Feathers v St Comgall’s; Thatch v Q Club; Q Pool v Thatch Rockets; Saints v Freewheelers; No. 1 Reds v Station Bar; Ruby’s Bar v Gers; Clonlee v Tech Tornadoes.