McAllister storms to victory at Cloughmills 10k race

Larne AC's Phelim McAllister. INLT 34-910-CON
Larne AC's Phelim McAllister. INLT 34-910-CON

Larne Athletic Club’s Phelim McAllister drew on all of his experience to take first place in the inaugural Cloughmills 10k race.

McAllister topped a field of approximately 80 runners who battled their way around an undulating course in perfect conditions in a time of 36:33 seconds.

Ian Brennan, Pamela Ward and David Noble. INLT 34-914-CON

Ian Brennan, Pamela Ward and David Noble. INLT 34-914-CON

Five members of Larne AC travelled to Ballyronan to race the Lough Neagh Triathlon on Saturday. Wayne Morrow, Michael McCambridge, Helen Murray and Bobbie Garrett took on the sprint distance and Ian McCluggage raced in the Supersprint.

First home for the club in the sprint distance was Morrow in a time of 1:10:34, followed by McCambridge in 1:12:50.

Murray ran 1:21:30 and Garrett timed 1:23:35. McCluggage, who was competing in his first triathlon, took third place overall in the supersprint in 45:06.

At the Groomsport Half Marathon, 10k and 5k races, Kirsty Sharratt and Ruth Wilson tackled the 10k distance. Sharratt produced an another outstanding performance to finish as second female in 43:06, and Wilson registered a great time of 45:58.

Billy Thompson and Gillian Logan turned in top 20 male and female category finishes in the half-marathon in times of 1:24.50 and 1:43.36 respectively. Paul Tilson ran an impressive 1:33.12.

Paul Magee came second in the 5km in 35:32 to complete the Larne AC results.

Three Larne AC members took part in two 150km cycling events at the weekend. Pamela Ward raised over £500 for the Boom Foundation and also taking part was Ian Brennan and David Noble.

On Saturday (August 15) the Larne AC team travelled to Ballymena Ruby Club for the Billy Kerr cycling sportive, joining up with another 270 local cyclists. On the 16th, the team made the journey to the Killinchy 150 leisure cycle event.

Larne AC would like to thank all the members of Ballymena and Killinchy cycling clubs for their great support during and after the events.