Ballyclare lead the way with high five over Saints


Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ defeated St Comgall’s 5-0 to move themselves a point clear at the top of the Larne and District League. J. McKay, D. Agnew, S. Higgins, T. Mairs and D. Lyness were all in winning form for the golfers.

Latharna suffered a 4-1 defeat at the hands of fellow club-mates The Point. Raymond Weir was the only winner with The Point’s Graham Ferguson, A. McKee, S. Girvan and Eddie Carson all securing frames.

Q-Club ‘A’ won the derby at the Snooker Club beating the ‘B’ team 3-2. Neil McKelvey was on form with a break of 78 and Michael Kane made breaks of 50 and 30. Lee Topping won the other frame. Damian Steele and Stuart Hood won for the ‘B’ team.

Carrick ‘B’ pocketed a 3-2 win over Greenbank ‘B’ and Ballylumford beat Ballyclare Old Boys on the same scoreline. Ballyclare ‘B’ got the better of Carrick ‘A’ with a 3-2 success, while Greenbank ‘A’ repeated that result against Linfield.

Well done to Ballylumford on winning The Billy Phillips Competition in Carrick, beating Q-Club A 3-2 in the final.

The Committee of the League learnt with great sadness of the passing of two of the league’s players. Its members would like to offer our condolences to the families of Billy Caughey (Northgate and Carrick Golf Club) and Albert Brown (CAYC, Whitehead GC, Northgate and Carrick GC).