Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ go joint-top with Saints


Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ have moved level on points with St Comgall’s at the top of the Larne Snooker League thanks to a fine 4-1 win over Carrick B.

Stevie Higgins was on top form with breaks of 33 and 44 while team-mates Darren Agnew, Tommy Bamber and David Lyness also recorded wins.

St Comgall’s pocketed a narrow win away at St John’s with Ciaran O’Toole, Dean McDonagh (58) and Alphonsus McIlwaine all on target.

Q-Club ‘A’ fell to Ballylumford with Paul Wylie, Jim Magill and Philip Haveron winning for the Main Street men in a 3-2 victory.

Raymond Weir (23), George McGregor (33), Jim Jackson (55) and Billy Millar helped Latharna find their way in a 4-1 win at Q-Club ‘B’.

Greenbank ‘A’ won the derby in Sunnylands against their ‘B’ team. Davy Johnston, Pete McCaffrey, Boydie Hawkins and Maurice Williams (23) were all on target, with Harry Nelson beating Davy Douglas to take a point for his side.

The Point remain in fifth place despite their 3-2 defeat to Ballyclare GC ‘B’. A. McKee and Graham Ferguson got the host side off to a good start but Ronnie West, Ian Wallace and Jim Crockard hit back for the golfers.

In the Ballyclare derby, Linfield were 3-2 winners against Ballyclare Old Boys. Raymond Forsythe, Gary Rutherford and Willie Stewart pocketed frames for the Blues with Darren Vennard and Joe Lennon responding for the Old Boys.

The Knock-out Cup will begin on Monday, December 15 with the tie of the round being St Comgall’s v Latharna. Holders Ballyclare ‘A’ host Ballyclare Old Boys, while Q-Club ‘A’ welcome Carrick side, Greenbank A.