ATHLETICS: McIlroy wins Larne Junior parkrun

editorial image

North Belfast Harriers’ Calum McIlroy won Sunday’s Larne Junior parkrun, finishing the 2km race in a time of 07:58.

He was more than 20 seconds faster than second-placed Connor McRandal who cross the line in 08:19. Luke Harrison was third, clocking 08:22.

This week there was a field of 67 runners, nine of whom were first-timers: McRandal, Luke Harrison, Lewis Harrison, Stuart Holden, Daniel O’Boyle, Riley Harrison, Lily-Mae Magee, Linzi Holden and Aoife Hay.

Six runners recorded personal bests: Lewis McHendry, Ava Agnew, Bradley Rice, Emma McBrien, Ellen Kate Montgomery and Jack McKeen.

Larne Junior parkrun began in November and since then 166 different runners - including participants from seven athletics clubs - have completed 576 runs, covering a total distance of 1,152 km. There have been 114 new personal bests.

Remember, the parkrun 5k at Drains Bay takes place each Saturday morning (9:30am and the juniors’ 2k is staged each Sunday at Larne’s Town Park. Both events are free to enter.