Weakened Larne side return empty-handed

Rugby update
Rugby update

Larne’s First XV lost 38-10 in Fermanagh on Saturday as they took on unbeaten and much-fancied League contenders Enniskillen.

The away side started the brightest of the two teams, keeping Enniskillen pinned in their half for the first 15 minutes. However, a momentary lapse in concentration allowed the home team to clear their lines and gallop up the field.

The Enniskillen scrum-half exploited the weak defending at the pillars by the Larne men and it wasn’t long until they scored in the corner. The conversion was missed.

Larne heads did not drop and they were awarded with a penalty that Agnew slotted coolly over. With their tails up Larne continued on the attack, however this came at a price as winger Rhys Thomas went over on his ankle and had to be carried off the pitch, reducing Larne to 14 men.

Enniskillen then began to dominate the break down and just before the half time whistle they went over in the corner for a score. The conversion was again missed.

In the second half, the home side used their one-man advantage to full effect. The sustained pressure took its toll with the Enniskillen number 8 picking up from the base of a scrum and crashing over for a score.

They scored another try soon after, before Larne lost second row forward J McKinty to a leg injury.

Enniskillen began to run the ball through their backs and forwards with gaps appearing through visitors’ defence and they scored another two tries in quick succession. Soon after, as they tried to spin the ball wide looking for another score, Larne man Garrett capitalised for one of his trademark intercepts to scamper in under the posts for a well-deserved try.

With 10 minutes remaining, Larne lost prop Craig Gibson to a back injury.

The 12 men of Larne did not concede any further points and the game finished 38-10 to Enniskillen.

Larne: C Gibson, G Wright, D Hagans, M Crampsey, J McKinty, E Hunter, C Ferguson, J McCluggage (Capt), M Agnew, R Garrett, A Carter, J Hall, S Montgomery, R Thomas, H Saunderson.