Table-topping Saints sitting pretty at summit


Larne and District Snooker League leaders St Comgall’s have now extended their lead at the top of the table to four points after a hard-fought 4-1 victory over Greenbank A.

Dean McDonagh (25), Anthony McCorry (20), Alphonsus McIlwaine and Gary Johnston won the frames for the Saints, with Davy Johnstone landing a consolation the Carrick side.

Ballyclare ‘A’ and Latharna sit joint-second on 26 points. Ballyclare lost 4-1 at Q-Club ‘A’ with Stevie Higgins (21) pocketing their only frame. D. Kernohan, Ryan McKillop, Ryan McCrudden and Andy Lilly all won for the improving Snooker Club outfit.

Latharna lost the first two frames away at Greenbank ‘B’ before Billy Millar, Raymond Weir and manager Ken McCord took the next three to secure a 3-2 victory.

Linfield are a point further behind after their sixth win of the campaign - a 4-1 victory over Ballyclare ‘B’. Raymond Forsythe, Gary Rutherford (24), Willy Stewart and John Ferguson won for the Blues, with Jim Crockard providing the Ballyclare response.

The Point’s good form continued with a home win against neighbours Q-Club ‘B’. Gary McNeill, Graham Ferguson (20) and Steven Girvan were on target for the hosts. William Irvine and C. Wilson won for the visiting side.

In the bottom half, Ballyclare Old Boys won 4-1 against St John’s thanks to victories for D Vennard, Joe Lennon, Declan McClean (22) and Stevie Crymble. Damian Todd took the only frame for the Mill Brae side.

The next league meeting is set for December 1 at Latharna Club (7:30pm). Pairs will be drawn to a finish. Draws for Knockout Cup and Billy Phillips (Greenbank) competition will also be made.