Super 8s tournament set to get under way

Following the success of last season’s Super 8s tournament, Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis Club is delighted to announce the return of the competition with an excellent entry of 23 teams from many of the country’s top clubs.

Defending champions Ballymena head the entry and take on Bangor at 6.30pm on Monday, August 20. The singles match-up of international colleagues Andy Duncan and Graham McKee could be the deciding factor and should be a real cracker.

Beaten semi-finalists Transport, featuring British Isles Singles Champion Paul Daly, take on Mossley at the same time and will be favourites to progress. The two winners will play again at 8.30pm against Ewarts and Coleraine respectively.

On Tuesday (August 21), Larne 3 face Belmont with new junior international Christopher Snoddy getting his chance in the singles against newly-crowned PGL champion Davy Dubois. The winner of this one will play Old Bleach 1 for a place in the quarters. Salisbury face Pickie in the other early start with the winners playing strongly fancied Portrush, with their usual plethora of talent.

On Wednesday (August 22) the Larne teams continue to take centre stage as junior bowlers take on Irish Cup finalists Ballymoney who have Gary Kelly in their ranks. He could be set to face Leslie King in the singles rubber.

Larne’s midweek men are also involved against Old Bleach’s juniors in another intriguing match when all eyes will be on Alan McCord to see if he can build on his excellent in the PGL singles earlier this season. The winners of these games will again face stiff opposition at 8.30pm against Whitehead and Dunbarton.

Thursday (August 23) will see the final first-round match as Larne 1 take on Letterkenny. The winners have the prize of facing last season’s finalists Cookstown for a place in the quarters. Transport’s seconds take on Falls for a place in the quarters with a 6.30pm start.

Organisers are hoping for another excellent tournament and supporters are very welcome to Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis Club throughout the duration.

Thanks go to tournament committee members Alister Mawhinney, Simon Bell and Harry Millar for their endeavours. Catering will be available at the club on each of the evenings of play.