Phelim McAllister is named Larne AC’s Athlete of the Year

Larne AC chairman Andy Gregg (right) presents Phelim McAllister with the Athlete of the Year trophy. INLT 09-906-CON
Larne AC chairman Andy Gregg (right) presents Phelim McAllister with the Athlete of the Year trophy. INLT 09-906-CON

Phelim McAllister was the big winner as Larne Athletic Club held its annual dinner and presentation of prizes this week.

McAllister won the award for Athlete of the Year. He was first club member to finish a number of races, including the Larne Half Marathon in a new personal best of 1:20:31. He also achieved podium places at the Rathlin Run, Causeway Coast Marathon and the Dalriada 10K.

Patricia Blair was named Female Veteran of the Year, with Laura Smith as runner-up.

Craig Hutchinson won this year’s Male Veteran of the Year Award, while Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Rhonda Brady, with Kirsty Sharratt, runner-up.

Phelim McAllister was the winner of the Elizabeth Sloan Trophy for the overall handicap series, while the handicap series wooden spoon was won by Heather Baxter, having completed the requisite six races to count in the final scoring.

The Handicap Merit Award was won by Dan Magill who posted personal bests.

Laura Smith was this season’s Most Improved Female Athlete and there was a joint-award for the Most Improved Male, with David Noble and Thomas Craig sharing the prize.

Olympian James McIlroy won Performance of the Year for his superb time of 2:33:27 at the Berlin Marathon in September.

Junior runners Jack Baxter and David Murphy were joint Junior Male Athlete winners while joint Junior Female Athlete winners were Brommely Finn and Laura Brennan.

Male Newcomer of the Year went to Ian McCluggage, while Female Newcomer was awarded to Kirsten Montgomery.

Sammy Drummond and Rhonda Brady were jointly awarded the trophy for Club Person of the Year in recognition of their coaching work.

There was a special presentation recognising four club members as Honorary Members; Davy Henderson, George Sloan, Billy Magee and Noel Greenlee.

AWARDS at a glance

Merit in the Handicap Series – Dan Magill

Performance of the Year – James McIlroy

Male Newcomer of the Year – Ian McCluggage

Female Newcomer of The Year – Kirsten Montgomery

Male Veteran of the Year – Craig Hutchinson

Female Veteran of the Year – Patricia Blair. Runner-up, Laura Smith

Club Person of the Year – Rhonda Brady / Sammy Drummond

Female Athlete of The Year – Rhonda Brady

Athlete of the Year – Phelim McAllister