Linfield and Ballyclare lead the way in Larne Snooker League


Linfield and Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ are the early pace-setters after week three of the Larne and District Snooker League.

Linfield secured a third successive win with a 4-1 victory over Greenbank B. Gary Rutherford (22), Raymond Forsythe, Willy Stewart (30) and Billy Parke won their frames with William McNeeley responding for the visitors.

Ballyclare ‘A’ recorded their second success of the season in a 4-1 victory over Ballylumford. Darren Agnew, Trevor Mairs, Stevie Higgins and J McKay took their frames with Jim Magill (25) pocketing one for Lumford.

Ballyclare ‘B’ remain unbeaten after seeing off Greenbank A 3-2. Adam McIntyre, Jim Taylor and Ian Wallace were on the mark for Ballyclare while Maurice Williams and Davy Douglas won for the hosts.

Latharna recorded a 4-1 win away at Ballyclare OB thanks to frame wins from George McGregor, Raymond Weir (24), Ken McCord and Billy Millar (38). Stevie Crymble took the last frame the Old Boys.

Carrick ‘A’ defeated their ‘B’ team 4-1. Ricky Bradley, W. Hill (Snr), Gavin Baker (43, 20) and Davy Wright won for the A team, with Mikey Jones registering the last. St Comgall’s defeated The Point 4-1 thanks to Dean McDonagh (46, 24), C O’Toole, Anthony McCorry (21) and Shaun McAlister (33, 27). Trevor Boyle notched a consolation for the home team.

St John’s beat Q-Club 3-2 with S. Guiller, Damien Todd and Andy Reid all winning. C Wilson and S Hood provided Q-Club’s response.

Snooker meeting: Greenbank (Carrick), October 14, 7:30pm. £50 registration to be paid at this meeting and £2 per player.