Latharna have title in their sights


With just one more round of matches to go, it’s Latharna who top of the Larne and District Snooker League, thanks to a convincing 4-1 win over third-placed Greenbank ‘A’.

Jim Jackson, Raymond Weir, Gavin Carmichael and George McGregor each won their frames to move their side to the summit, with Wayne Harper providing the visitors’ only response.

Linfield, who have completed all of their matches, rounded off the season with a 3-2 away win at Comrades ‘B’. W. Stewart, Gary Rutherford and John Ferguson all won with Declan McClean and Stevie Crymble replying for the hosts.

Carrick ‘A’ have moved up to fourth place with another 4-1 win - this time at Ballylumford. D. Newell, Gavin Baker, Ken Knocker and Ricky Bradley secured the four points, with M. McWilliams winning for the Main Street side.

St Comgall’s look to be out of the title chase now sitting four points behind Latharna, despite a 3-2 win against Comrades ‘A’.

Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ sit two points behind the Saints after beating Greenbank ‘B’ 3-2. Tommy Balmber (29), Michael Agnew and Ian Wallace were all in the swing for the golfers. Alan Corrigan and Harry Nelson won for the home side.

Frame wins Glenn Gibney, William Hill (Jnr), Harry Wade and Mick Jones meant Carrick Golf Club ‘B’ claimed a 4-1 win over The Point, with Gary Neill won for the visiting team.

Meanwhile, it’s congratulations to Neil McKelvey of Ballyclare Golf Club who won the Larne Individual competition with a 3-0 win over Latharna’s Gavin Carmichael.

St John’s cueman Gary Hunter claimed the Division Two Individual title, defeating Greenbank’s Wayne Harper 3-0 in the final.