Latharna demolish Linfield to go top


Latharna are now top of the Larne and District Snooker League by a point over St Comgall’s and Greenbank ‘A’ with three matches remaining.

The leaders enjoyed a 5-0 demolition of fifth-placed Linfield with Raymond Weir (47), Gavin Carmichael (32, 25), Neil McFayden, W. Millar and Jim Jackson (30) all on target.

St Comgall’s sit a point behind despite a disappionting 3-2 defeat at St John’s. C. O’Toole and Berti Pill (25c) won with Alex Robertson, Andy Reid (29) and Sammy Guiller responding for the hosts.

Greenbank ‘A’ sit third after a 3-2 home win over neighbours Carrick Golf Club ‘B’. Wayne Harper, Robert Kinnon and Maurice Williams took frames for ths hosts, with Harry Wade and Jim Greene winning for the golfers.

Ballyclare ‘A’ have jumped to fourth place with wins over a two-man Legion team and a 4-1 victory over Ballyclare Old Boys. Neil McKelvey, Trevor Mairs, J. McKay and Stevie Higgins (45) with Declan McClean winning for the visitors.

The Point won their 16th match of the season with a fine 3-2 away win at Carrick Golf Club ‘A’. Aaron McKee, Graham Ferguson and Steven Girvan all won with D Newell and Ricky Bradley responding for the golf club.

Ballylumford won 3-2 away at Greenbank ‘B’, Jim Magill, Peter Martin and Darren McNeill all won with Dean Harper and Roy Johnston winning a frame each.

Elsewhere, Legion lost 3-2 to Ballyclare ‘B’.

The draws for the three-a-sides, Harry Phillips 10 red competition and Dr Scott Cup will take place in Latharna Club on Tuesday, April 15 (7:30 pm). Outstanding monies must be paid on the night.