Larne men on cue for interleague challenge

LARNE Pool League will send three teams to the Northern Ireland Pool Association 2012 interleague competition.

The A team, managed by Thatch cueman Ellis Martin, play at the Queen’s Hall, Newtownards, on Sunday, January 15. The B1 and B2 sides open the the event on Saturday 14. Bryan McWhirter is the B1 chief with the B2s selected by Scott Hutchinson and Alex Irvine.

A team – Ellis Martin (manager), Gerry McCorry, Bill McIlroy Snr, Bill McIlroy Jnr, Jonny Nelson, Alan Johnston, Dessie Cooper, Kenny Hylands, Neil McKelvey, Colin Montgomery, Robert Hawkins, Kenny English, Stephen McWhirter.

B1 – Bryan McWhirter (m), Aaron Wright, Dean McDonagh, Paul Jingles, Anthony McCorry, Stephen Peoples, Sean McAlister, Paul McAlister, Stuart Houston, Eddie Gribben, Ciaran O’Toole, Glyn Williams, Davy McKendry, Stephen Burns.

B2 – Alex Irvine (m), Scott Hutchinson (m), Alan Murray, Damian Heggarty, Eddie Wilson, Gary Johnston, Ian McCalmont, Lee Gribben, Lee Hogg, Martin Stubbs, Matt Barr, Neil McFaul, Ryan Baird, Ryan Martin, Steven Read, William Irvine.

Larne league action resumes tonight (Thursday, 7.30pm) with leaders Gatherups away to mid-table Feathers and challengers Gers and Thatch visiting Ulsterbus Eagles and home to No1 Blues respectively.

Matches are: Feathers v Gatherups, Ibrox v Eagle Rockets, Larne FSC v Larne FC, No1 Club v LIPS, St Comgall’s v Station Bar, Thatch Bar v No1 Blues, Ulsterbus Eagles v Gers.