Hutchinson shines for Larne AC at Belfast’s Seeley Cup 10k

Some of the Larne AC runners at the Seeley Cup. INLT 49-912-CON
Some of the Larne AC runners at the Seeley Cup. INLT 49-912-CON

Sixteen athletes from Larne AC made the trip to Belfast’s Ormeau Park on Saturday for the annual Seeley Cup 10k, which also incorporated the Athletics NI 10k Championships.

In perfect conditions Craig Hutchinson was first home for the club in 34:58, with Bernard Brady next over the line in 35:43. Nigel Kane also broke the 40-minute barrier coming home in 38:55; a superb result given Nigel’s limited training of late.

Raymond Bannon narrowly missed out breaking the 40 minutes with his 40:19 and was quickly followed over the line by David Noble in 40:36. Paul Tilson (41:05), Geraldine Quigley (41:22) and Martan Keane (41:35) all followed within 30 seconds of each other, while a further two minutes seperated Thomas Craig (42:17), Dan Magill (43:22 pb) and Rhonda Brady (44:26).

A strong candidate for run of the day was Derek Reid who clocked 45:30 to give him a new PB by over 10 minutes. Jane Liddle was next home for the club in 47:33, followed by Kerri-Anne Kearny who also recorded a new PB (50:29).

Julianne Keane was the penultimate Larne AC runner in 51:00, with Gillian Craig who was making her debut at the distance completing the club contingent in 61:08.

At the Glasgow University five-mile road race, Larne AC’s Ryan Stewart recorded a new personal best of 28:16.

Lyndsey Dillon took part in the Action on Hearing Loss Hazelbank five-mile run. Starting at the Portside Inn the runners followed a mostly flat course which followed the shore path towards Hazelbank Park in Newtownabbey before turning and returning along the same route. Lyndsey had a terrific run to complete the course in 45:00 - a new PB by over six minutes.

Back in Larne, 17 club runners took part in the town’s parkrun. Bryan Magee (19:51) who was third finisher overall, while first lady home was Patricia Blair in 23:17. First-timer Bobby Boal had an excellent run to finish in 23:29, followed by Heather Baxter who ran well to record a new PB for the course (24:20). Ian Brennan, badly hampered by a hamstring injury, completed the run in 25:01 followed by Bernie Regan (25:18). Next followed a string of first-timers: Janine Rainey (25:41), Elaine McKay (27:08), Elaine Hall (27:11), Helen Kane (28:29), Emily Boal (28:38), Erin Beattie (28:39), Irene Beattie (30:58).