Fairley is appointed Larne Lady Captain

Share this article

The 101st Annual General Meeting of the Ladies’ Section of Larne Golf Club was held on Saturday (January 11).

Outgoing Lady Captain Lynne Armstrong thanked everyone for their support and help during 2013 - their centenary year.

Lynne thanked Miss Irene Howie, who is stepping down as Honorary Secretary to Assistant Secretary, for her hard work and valued contribution over the years.

There was a presentation of a number of prizes: ILGU Silver Spoon was won by Gail McNabb, who also won the Summer Ringer Prize, sponsored by Maureen Dunwoody.

The ILGU bronze and silver medals were won by Sharon Heggen and Audrey Faulkner, respectively. The ILGU Junior Medal winner was Katy Baird.

Mrs Armstrong then welcomed the new Lady Captain for 2014, Lisa Fairley, and wished her well for the year ahead.

Lisa’s vice-captain for 2014 is Sharon Heggen.

Office Bearers were also elected: Honorary Secretary, Cathy Anderson. Treasurer Mrs Anne Hedley. Handicap Secretary, Roma English.

Lady Captain Lisa Fairley is looking forward to a busy year ahead. As well as the usual Friday competitions which commence with All Prize Day on March 14, the ladies can look forward to an away day at Temple Golf and Country Club, the Lady Captain’s Away Weekend to Lough Erne Resort and Lady Captain’s Day on August 1.

An information evening is planned for Friday, February 28 at 7:30 pm. For more deatails, contact Larne Golf Club 028 93382228 or 07801562366.