Bowls: Larne get the better of East Antrim

Larne emerged as the winners of this year’s Charity Cup when they got the better of East Antrim at Downshire School on Thursday (October 11).

Play got underway and on Rink 1 with Larne’s team of A. Semple, W. Blair, J. Smith and D. Snoddy taking on the East Antrim side who had James Burns at the helm. Things looked to be going in Larne’s favour, but a late surge from East Antrim four saw them win by one shot.

On mat 2 N. Bell’s Larne rink took on V. Davidson’s side. After a slow start, Larne turned the screw and ran out comfortable 18-6 winners.

Rink 3, between Larne’s E. Wilson and East Antrim’s S. Rea was evenly matched and finished all square, giving Larne a 13-shot lead at half time.

D. Montgomery and his troops took on B. Johnston on Rink 4 where East Antrim had the upper hand. E. Woods played C. Keats on Rink 5 but, on this occasion, the East Antrim rink came out on top.

In the last game of the evening, G. Devenney battled it out against H. Harte and kept his cool to claim a well deserved victory for his rink and for Larne who lifted the trophy thanks to a narrow one-shot advantage.

Whitehead off to a winning start

Larne & Kilwaughter 2 pts (33) v Whitehead G.C. 5 pts (41): Whitehead came out on top in rink 1 with a 15-9 victory over L & K’s J McConnell.

Whithead’s D. McClean, C. Knox, J. Tweedie and B. Haveron were the biggest winners on the night seeing off E. Martin’s four 15-5.

In the second half, L & K came out fighting and pulled back a rink point for the home team thanks to W. Barr who defeated G. Girvan 10 - 6.

D. Graham took on R.Ruddock in the last game of the evening and claimed a point for the home team, winning 9-5.

L & K put up a good fight in the second half but just couldn’t claw back the 16 shots, meaning Whitehead won by 8 shots.

Zone Team: There have been a few changes made to this year’s Larne Zone Team to play Cork. A team practice has been arranged for Thursday, October 25 in Killwaughter.

RINK 1: N. Beggs, T Bodles, D.J. Dilworth, D. Witherspoon; Rink 2: R McCrudden, M. Petticrew, A. Thom, J Burns; RINK 3 - M. McCallion, S. Gingles, S. Bell, M. Murphy; Rink 4 - R. Robinson, G. Falconer, J. Petticrew, N. Todd. Rink 5 - H. Millar, S Beggs, C. Snoddy, J. Semple. Rink 6: G. Woods, D. Snoddy, D. McRandal, A. McClean.