ATHLETICS: Field of 48 tackle Larne Junior parkrun

editorial image

Forty-eight parkrunners shook off the chocolate eggs they had eaten over the Easter holidays to put their best foot forward at Sunday’s Larne Junior parkrun.

Four new faces joined the field and they were Sam Drummond, Luke Galway, Alex Hamilton and Will McIlveen.

Fourteen personal were recorded: Noah McGarry, Ben Erdis, Ava Agnew, Amy Leigh McDonald, Charlotte Dean, Jack Erdis, Angus Wilson, Ella Agnew, Kelly Patterson, Dylan Pike, Saoirse Bell, Zoe Whitford, Rory Kennedy and Lauren McKeown.

Male placings: Oisin McAllister (JM10) (Unattached) was first (6th overall) over the line in 08:59 - first time in eight appearances.

Dallan Bell (JM10) of East Coast Athletic Club was second (7th overall) to finish in 09:13. Kian McAllister (JM10) of East Coast Athletic Club, was third (8th overall) to cross the line in 09:32.

Female placings: Bradie Hogg (JW11-14), East Coast Athletic Club, was first (first overall) over the line in 07:51 - 9th time in 12 appearances.

Kelly Patterson (JW11-14) of East Coast AC, was second (second overall) over the line in 08:01 - has been first to finish on two previous occasions. Keeva Bell (JW11-14), East Coast AC, was third (third overall) to finish in 08:39.

Best Age Grade scores: Bradie Hogg (JW11-14) was graded 76.75% for the time 07:51 (first overall). Kelly Patterson (JW11-14) was graded 73.52% for the time 08:01 (second overall). Oisin McAllister (JM10) was graded 72.47% for the time 08:59 (6th overall).

Since Larne Junior parkrun began in November 2015, 208 different runners, including participants from eight athletics clubs, have completed 1,032 runs covering a total distance of 2,064 km, and there have been 253 new personal bests.

The female record is held by Eimear McBrien (00:07:30). The male record holder is Connor McRandal (00:07:19). The Age Grade record holder is Bradie Hogg 78.75% run (07:39).