Class and consistency of Todd earns him prize double at Wellington Rec

Football news.
Football news.

While last season won’t go down as one of Wellington Rec’s more memorable campaigns in the Northern Amateur League, the class and consistency of Scott Todd was always evident.

Whether playing in centre-midfield or at right-back, it was the ex-Larne player who collected both the First Team’s Player of the Year Awards at their annual presentation night.

It was the Millbrook side’s first term back in Division 1B and, having lost their last five games, they had to settle for 11th spot. They also registered a far from impressive goal difference of –40.

Granted, Rec were under no real pressure in those final weeks as their safety was already secured. The mind-sets, and some of the players, were focused more towards the Seconds who finished second in Division 3C.

Even so, it was just as well that Wellington started the season better than they finished it, with three wins and a draw under then manager, Graham McConnell.

McConnell left the club to be replaced by Aaron Boyd in a caretaker capacity, before he too departed. Gary Morrow saw them through the final couple of match

With the arrival of new boss Stephen Donald and a few players from Premier Division neighbours, Islandmagee, more will be expected of Welly Rec next term.

Awards: Player of the Year, Scott Todd; Players’ Player of the Year, Scott Todd; Leading Goalscorer, Dean Shaw; Most Improved Player, Colin Paisley; Young Player of the Year, Michael Wilson; Clubman of the Year, Gary Morrow.