East Antrim Junior Tennis Championships proves a hit

Emily Beattie won both the Under-18 and Under-16 Girls titles at the AES Ballylumford East Antrim Junior Tennis Championships in Larne. She defeated number one seed Lucy Octave, from Donaghadee, in two closely-fought matches.

Thursday, 26th July 2012, 3:14 pm

The Under-16 final was a thriller with Hillsborough girl Beattie taking the first set comfortably 6-2 before Octave fought back to take the second set 6-3. The third set was a tense affair with Emily coming through to take the title for first time by 6-3 scoreline. The Under-18 final proved to be more straight forward for Beattie as she won in straight sets 6-3, 6-4.

Local success came in the Under-18 boys’ doubles with Larne brothers Timothy and Oliver Cameron beating Kyles Bonnes and Jamie Scott 6-4, 6-1.

The event, held at Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis Club, is in its 20th year and more than 80 children from as far afield as Warrenpoint and Enniskillen took part in various age groups from Under-8 up to Under-18.

Ben Kelly (18) from CIYMS retained the Under-18 Boys’ title for the third year running, beating David Weir (16) 6-4, 6-2. David had earlier won the Under-16 singles title, defeating number one seed Chris Madden-McKee in a three-setter.

The Under-14 boys’ final between Matthew Robinson from Ballymena and Jakob Robb from Windsor also went to three sets with Robinson prevailing 6-4, 3-6,6-3. The girls’ Under-14 final was a more one-sided affair with Lydia Kelly beating Emma Coulter 6-3, 6-3.

Caleb Rolston (11) had beaten number one seed Harry Ellsmere in the Under-12 boys’ semi-final and went on to win the title beating Anton Robb 6-1, 6-4 in the final.

The Under-12 girls’ event was a round-robin format with Mary Parkash winning all her matches. The Under-18 girls’ doubles was won by twins, Annie and Caitlin McCullough, from Singapore, who defeated Katherine Hill and Aoibhinn Kelly 6-3, 6-4. Katherine also won the Player of the Tournament trophy.

Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis Club are grateful to AES Ballylumford, Larne Borough Council and First Trust Bank for their continued support of the tournament.