Cast your vote for Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

Share this article

After signing for Gearlink Kawasaki, East Antrim’s Alastair Seeley helped promote the voting for the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year.

Once again this prestigious award will be decided by bike fans who can choose their favourite rider of the season by voting online. The winner of the Enkalon award, in association with Adelaide, will be presented with the famous Joey Dunlop trophy at the Adelaide Motorcycle Awards in Belfast on January 18 next year.

Last year bike fans logged on in their thousands to cast their vote, and can do so again by visiting the awards website:

Enkalon club chairman David Weir is expecting another big vote. He said: “We again wanted to make it really easy for fans to pick their rider of the season, and whether that’s on the computer or mobile device; we want as many people as possible to have their say. We will also make the vote available via the club Facebook page.”

Among the nominated riders are British Superstock Champion Keith Farmer, Jack Kennedy the runner-up in the British Supersport Championship, British Supersport Cup champion Glenn Irwin, and Brian McCormack - the first double winner of the Adelaide Masters Superbike and Supersport series.

On the World short circuit scene Jonathan Rea and Eugene Laverty finished fifth and sixth respectively in the World Superbike Championship. Rea was also the first British winner of the Suzuka 8-hour race and deputised in MotoGP for Casey Stoner. 

Off -road East Antrim rider Martin Barr excelled in the British MX1 Championship, as did fellow local Graeme Irwin in the MX2. They both teamed up for an excellent 13th position out of 20 in the MX of Nations.  

Other nominated riders are NW200 winner, and last year’s Irish Motorcyclist of the Year Seeley, Michael Laverty who finished fifth in the British Superbike Championship, young road racer Jamie Hamilton from Ballyclare, and Lee Johnston, who had podium finishes at the NW200 and in the British Superstock Championship.

 In all, more than a dozen other awards will be presented on the night. Anyone wishing to purchase tickets can email: or phone 07584058810.