U3A members hold AGM

editorial image

EAST Antrim University of the Third Age (U3A) held its third Annual General Meeting on Monday, March 18 in Joymount Church Hall, Carrickfergus.

The meeting, which was well attended, got under way with the Chairman, David Nesbitt, giving his report on the success and growth of East Antrim U3A during the year 2012/13.

Mr Nesbitt announced that as he had been Chairman since the inception of East Antrim U3A three years ago, it was time for him to stand down.

This was followed by nominations for the Executive Committee and committee members for the incoming year.

The new Chairman, Mr Bill Pollock, the Treasurer, Mr Alec Williams and Secretary, Mrs Nuala Baxter, who make up the Executive Committee, were voted in unanimously by the members.

Rodney Lurring, Roderick Acheson, Lorna McKee, Anne Bodles, Vera Scott, Brenda Nicholl, David Nicholl and Freda Keys were re-elected unanimously as committee members..

Rodney Lurring then proposed that in view of the contribution made by David Nesbitt during his three years as Chairman he should be voted in as Honorary President. The proposal was seconded and agreed by all members.

East Antrim U3A will continue to hold its monthly meetings on the third Monday of each month at 2pm in Joymount Church Hall, Carrickfergus.

For more information about what U3A has to offer, log on to www.eastantrim-u3a.org.uk