Sunshine brings the crowds to Mounthill

Lucy Bell, Kara Bell and Tracy Gilour with the Reserve Champion pen. INLT 41-342-PR
Lucy Bell, Kara Bell and Tracy Gilour with the Reserve Champion pen. INLT 41-342-PR

Despite all the rain earlier in the week, it turned out to be the best fair day in years, and, after last year’s postponement, the crowds were back out in force for Saturday’s Mounthill Fair.

The annual event was once more held on the lands of the Mackey Family on the Crosshill Road.

As well as the traditional horse, pony and agricultural classes, there was the Pet Show, which was organised, sponsored and judged by Rosalind Woodside from Gleno Veterinary Centre

Traders, the general public and competitors also dug deep to lend support to the nominated charity – the Northern Ireland Cancer Fund for Children.

Raloo Presbyterian Church Boys Brigade and young Mounthill member Mark Graham did a great job organising the event’s parking, as did Martin Mehaffey in shoring up the entrance to the site.

In-hand horses and 

Open foal class out of mare, exceeding 14.2hh - 1, X Treme, Lorna Doone-Fletcher.

Champion foal - Mounthill Fair Cup, X-Treme; reserve, Kilwaughter Dawn, Houston Crooks.

Best all round mare, saddle type with foal at foot - Robert McDowell Memorial Cup, Kilwaughter Beauty, Houston Crooks.

Three year old riding/hunter pony – 1, Dunshane Paloma, David Johnston.

Four years and over - 1, Loneash Melanie, Tony Armstrong.

Riding/hunter pony championship - Alex McWhirter Shield, Loneash Melanie, Tony Armstrong; reserve, Dunshane Paloma, David Johnston.

Yearling horse 14.2hh and over – 1, Adastra On a Whisper, Joanne Maybin.

Three year old - 1, Kilwaughter Blade, Houston Crooks.

Horse Championship - McClure Cup, Adastra On a Whisper; reserve, Kilwaughter Blade.

Ridden horses and ponies:

Lead rein, Tiny Tots - 1 and Firgrove Stables Trophy, Dino, Charlotte Glenn.

Open Lead Rein - 1 and Farming Life Trophy, Mardenway Diamonds Forever, Charlotte Glenn.

Local Lead Rein - 1 and Clifford Trophy, Razzle Dazzle, Sam Jackson.

Local First Ridden - 1 and William McDowell Memorial Shield, Jack, Anna Jackson.

Open First Ridden -1 and McKee Challenge Trophy, Loneash Melanie, Eva McClurg.

Mini Ridden Championship - 1, Loneash Melanie, Eva McClurg; reserve, Mardenway Diamonds Forever, Charlotte Green.

Open Ridden, ponies up to 13.2hh - 1 and William Warren Memorial Shield, Lady, Aimee Fleming.

Horse Riding - 1 and JA Craig Trophy; Midnight Reflection, Karina McVeigh.

Open Ridden Championship - Midnight Reflection; reserve, Xsara, Joanne Maybin.

In Hand Cob - 1, Rosehall Alexander, John Weir Jnr.

Cob Championship - Sam Howie Shield, Rosehall Alexander; reserve, Two Tone Pot Luck, Lisa Hutchinson.

In Hand Coloured Horse or Pony - 1, Two Tone Pot Luck, Lisa Hutchinson.

Ridden Coloured Horse or Pony - 1, Midnight Reflection, Karina McVeigh.

Coloured Horse and Pony Championship - Two Tone Pot Luck; reserve, Midnight Reflection.

Agricultural horses:

Foal - 1, Dairylough McQuade, S & V Parke.

Four years and over - 1, Roeview Primrose, John McDermott.

Yearling colt - 1, Dandy Boy, Pat O’Boyle.

Filly - 1, Bencannon Diamond, Jennifer Reid.

Three years - 1, Rosehall Stuart, Eric Hinds.

Agricultural Horse Championship - William Moore Memorial Cup, Bencannon Diamond, Jennifer Reid.

Reserve Champion and Kenny McCowan Memorial Shield, Dairylough McQuade.

Best 2-3 year old - Graham Memorial Cup, Rosehall Stuart.

Best foal - David Crawford Memorial Shield, Dairylough McQuade.

Best male - David Graham Memorial Shield, Dairylough McQuade.

Open female Shetland- 1, Toffee, Georgia McConnell.

Shetland Championship - Eric McWilliam Cup, Georgia McConnell.

Donkey, 4 years and over - 1, Jazz, George Stewart

Donkey Championship - RJ Hill Trophy and Mounthill Champion of Champions Trophy, Jazz.

Farm Cart Turnout - 1, and Folklore Society Trophy, Roseview Primrose, John McDermott.

Round Traps and Gigs - 1 and John Clifford Memorial Cup, Milltown boy, John Weir Jnr.

Road Traps - 1 and William Harry Irvine Memorial Cup, Milltown Boy.

Driving Championship - Milltown Boy; reserve, Roeview Primrose.

Mounthill Fair Society chairman John Cross expressed the society’s thanks to all the sponsors who support the fair and give so generously every year.

Mounthill Fair Society officials for 2013 are: president Eric McWilliam; chairman John Cross; vice-chairman Robert Moore; secretary Marie Bell; treasurer Avril Graham; assistant treasurers Ashleigh Gilmour and Robert Moore; vice-presidents Raymond Clifford, Violet Clifford, James Gilmour, Margaret McWhirter, Crawford Magill and Rev Dr John W Nelson.