Good turnout for Ballynure vintage ploughing match

IAN Simms from Carrickfergus, the former European number one, captured the vintage championship at the seventh annual match organised by one of the youngest societies in the province, the Ballynure Vintage Tractor Ploughing Society, held on the lands of Mr and Mrs Stanley Hall, Castle Road, Ballynure, which attracted a good turnout of 29 entries.

Runner-up to the Champion of the Field was Ballynure’s very own James Adair.

This year, too, Ballynure had their first ever Classic Class, won by Sammy White, while making a return for the first time in four years, was the 12-inch world style class, where Brian O’Neill was the winner.

The event was sponsored by Jack Millar, Andrew Maybin, DJ McKee and family, DJ McKee and Sons Ltd, Dennison Commercials, Frankie Davidson, McAnally Auto Repairs, Murray Elliott, James Buchanan, Jackson’s Butchers and Bakery, Martin Mehaffy, Alan Beggs, Robin Jenkins, Six Mile Valley Potatoes, Carryduff and Omagh Auctions, Joe Maybin, Erskine McIlwaine Commercial Repairs, Clare Trailers, James Boyle, Lismenary Motors and R & K Blair.

The stewards were Bertie McIlroy (chief), Roy McAnally, Mark McAnally, Alistair McCullen, Tommy McClintock, Hugo McConnaughie, Brian McCowan and Irwin McKnight.

The judges were David Percy, Randalstown; Wilson Holden, Killyglen; Brian McNally, Portaferry; William Purcell, Limavady; Harold Simms, Carrickfergus and Martin Gill, Ballynahinch.

The awards will be handed out at the annual dinner dance, to be held in McConnell’s of Doagh on Saturday, September 22.


Class 1, 12-inch world style, 1, Brian O’Neill, Moy; 2, Pat O’Donnell, Coalisland; 3, Richard Pinkerton, Nutts Corner; 4, Allen McAnally, Ballyboley

Class 2, Vintage Trail; 1, Mark Taggart, Cogry, Doagh; 2, Neil Scott, Portavogie; 3, William Gamble, Ballyrobert.

Class 3, Vintage Lift Senior; 1, Ian Simms, Carrickfergus; 2, James Adair, Ballycorr, Ballyclare; 3, Fred Dunn, Brookborough; 4, Billy Ritchie, Moneymore.

Class 4, Vintage Lift Intermediate; 1, Steven Weatherup, Magheramorne; 2, William McAuley, Ballyboley; 3, Warwick Manson, Parkgate; 4, William Steenson, Markethill.

Class 5, Vintage Lift Novice; 1, Jeffrey Cush, Lurgan; 2, William Leitch, Parkgate; 3, Tom Beattie, Ardboley, Straid.

Class 6, County Antrim Ferguson TE 20 Championship; 1, John Robinson, Ballyalbanagh; 2, James Fitchie MBE, Killinchy; 3, Pauline Davison, Killinchy.

Class 7, Vintage Lift, under 21 years; 1, Andrew Clyde, Ballysnod, Larne; 2, Marc Gamble, Ballynure.

Class 8, Horses; No entry.

Class 9, Classic; 1, Sammy White, Connor; 2, Ivan Watson, Ballynahinch; 3, David Boyd, Dundonald; 4, Alistair Beck, Kilkeel.


Best Hint in 12 inch world style; Brian O’Neill, Moy.

Best Hint Vintage; Ian Simms, Carrickfergus.

Best Hint Under 21 class; Andrew Clyde, Ballysnod.

Best Ins and Outs; Ian Simms, Carrickfergus.

Runner-up to the Co Antrim Championship; James Fitchie, MBE, Killinchy.

Best Lady Competitor; Pauline Davison, Killinchy.

Youngest Competitor; Marc Gamble, Ballynure.

Best work by a member of Ballynure Vintage Tractor Ploughing Society in the vintage classes; James Adair, Ballyclare.

Vintage Championship of the Field; Ian Simms, Carrickfergus; Runner Up, James Adair, Ballyclare.

Ballynure Vintage Tractor Ploughing Society would like to thank Mr and Mrs Hall for the use of the land, sponsors, judges, stewards competitors, caterers Mark and Amanda Wilson, and everyone who helped in any way to make the match a resounding success.