Gala evening at Mounthill Fair Society awards dinner

Amy O`Cleary is pictured with sisters, Grace and Lucy after winning the Albert Tipple Memorial Shield for Best Handler at the Mounthill Fair Society annual awards night at St Johns Masonic Centre. INLT 46-008-PSB
Amy O`Cleary is pictured with sisters, Grace and Lucy after winning the Albert Tipple Memorial Shield for Best Handler at the Mounthill Fair Society annual awards night at St Johns Masonic Centre. INLT 46-008-PSB
Share this article

Mounthill Fair Society held their annual presentation dinner at the Masonic Centre, Larne recently.

The event had taken place on its traditional date of the first Saturday in October, held once more on the lands of the Mackey Family, Crosshill Road, just overlooking Gleno.

With it really being a ‘fair’ day this year, there were good entries across both the horse and pony classes. As always the pet show, kindly organised by and sponsored by Rosalind Woodside and Farmhill and Gleno Veterinary Centres, was exceptionally well-supported and was a great crowd-puller with the general public.

At the fair, too, there was plenty to entertain the crowds, for, apart from the traditional horse and pony classes, there was music from Thomasena Hall, the Latharna Accordion Group, Dave Lee, Sam Topping and the Norwood Bluegrass Band, and Magheramorne Silver Band - each artist giving their time freely in support of the Fair and this year’s nominated charity, Comfort and Care for the Terminally Ill (CACTI).

The support for the fair was phenomenal in terms of sponsorship from local businesses, trade stands and general public. This year, there was a new team of corporate sponsors who dug deep to support the Horse and Pony Championships.

Feedback from the fair has been very positive, the crowd seemed to enjoy the day and traders in their words said “business was good”.

The Fair Committee are conscious of the inconvenience the Fair causes for the residents of Crosshill Road and, as regards traffic management, they greatly appreciate the help and support provided by PSNI Larne Neighbourhood, William Rainey, Mark Graham and the Officers from Raloo Boys Brigade who managed the parking which hopefully alleviated some of the problems.

Again there was a fantastic team present to officiate in the Horse and Pony Rings. Sincere thanks to Helen Coxon, John Drummond, Connor McCormick, Rebecca Bell, Charles Chadwick, Emma Cross, Stephen McDonald and Tony Bell.

The Fair Committee would also like to thank the competitors, entertainment team, Event Medics N.I. Gleno Valley YFC, Larne Borough Council, the local Press, Mackey Family, PSNI Larne, Rosalind Woodside, sponsors, traders, Marty’s Catering for the

delicious meal; the Larne

Masonic Centre, Geoff

Murray for entertaining the large attendance at the dinner. and everyone who contributed to the success of the

2014 Fair in their own special way.

Vice Chairman Jim Gilmour conducted an auction, with the proceeds going to the 2014 nominated charity, Comfort and Care for the Terminally Ill.

Mounthill Fair Society would like to thank local traders and individuals for so generously supporting

the auction and ballot through the donation of gifts, vouchers etc.

A cheque will be presented to Comfort and Care

for the Terminally Ill once

all the money had been totted up.

Chairman John Cross announced the following prizewinners, who received their awards from Mrs Hinds:

Mounthill Fair Cup for Champion Foal; Kilwaughter Storm, Houston Crooks.

Robert McDowell Memorial Cup for Best all round mare, saddle type with foal at foot; Kilwaughter Beauty, Houston Crooks

Alex McWhirter Shield for Riding/Hunter Pony Championship; Merry Legs, Aimee Fleming.

McClure Cup for the Horse Championship; FSD Louisiana, Frank Dickey.

Firgrove Stables Trophy for Lead Rein Tiny Tots; Angus, Charlotte McAllister.

William McDowell Memorial Shield for Local First Ridden; Rocky, Grace Morton.

McKee Challenge Trophy for Open First Ridden; Pedro, Katelyn Irvine.

Champion of Champions Trophy for Mini Ridden Championship, Angus, Charlotte McAllister.

William Warren Memorial Shield for Open Ridden, Ponies not exceeding 138cms; Princess Diamond, Jessica McClements.

JA Craig Trophy for Horse Riding Class; Dora Silver Diamond, Grant McCullough.

Sam Howie Shield for Cob Championship; Barney, Stacey Morton.

William Moore Memorial Cup for Agricultural Horse Championship; Bencannon Diamond, Jennifer Reid.

Kenny McCowan Memorial Shield for the Reserve Agricultural Horse Championship, Bratwell Storm. Wendy Holmes.

Graham Memorial Cup for best 2 or 3 year old; Bencannon Diamond, Jennifer Reid.

David Crawford Memorial Shield for Best Foal; Dairylough McCloud, Sam and Veronica Parke.

David Graham Memorial Shield fpr Best Male; Dairylough McCloud, Sam and Veronica Parke

Folklore Society Trophy for Farm Cart Turnout; Portview Poppy, John McDermott.

John Clifford Memorial Cup, for Round Trap and Gigs; Milltown Boy, John Weir junior.

William Harry Irvine Memorial Cup for Road Traps, Milltown Boy, John Weir junior.

Eric McWilliam Cup for the Shetland Championship, Toreagh Rising Storm, Catherine McFaul

RJ Hill Trophy for the Donkey Championship; Jazz, Ann Stewart/ Georgia McConnell

Albert Tipple Memorial Trophy for Young Handlers, under 15 years; Amy O’Cleary.