Creating a stir with tea and tasty bakes


New president Iris Hagan welcomed members to the October meeting. Member Pat Hunter demonstrated how she makes very tasty tray bakes, and another member, Sharon Morrow, gave an insight into yoga, proper breathing techniques, and arm stretches. Margaret Tweed won the competition for a pot of jam, with Pat Hunter runner-up and Sharon Morrow third. Margaret Huston won the ballot.


Maybeth McQuitty, president, introduced John McKernan, regional chair of Special Olympics Ulster, to the October meeting. John explained that Special Olympics is a sports training and competition programme for people with an intellectual disability. Members watched a video showing competitors in some of the 15 sports. Margaret Jackson proposed a vote of thanks to John, adding that members appreciated the great benefits gained thought Special Olympics. Maybeth McQuitty won the competition (Granny’s health remedy); Leta Marsden was second; and Anna Simms third.


President Anne Chin welcomed Robert Bell of S.D Bell’s tea and coffee merchants to the October meeting. Mr Bell’s talk ‘Creating a Stir’ was a fascinating explanation of the development of tea production from its inception in China 4500 years ago to its becoming a popular drink punctuating the daily lives of people worldwide.

Members learned that the Irish are third in the world in tea drinking per head of population and why it is best to put milk first into a preferably china cup. His account of the history of a long established local family business was infomative and entertaining and very well received. Mr Bell judged the competition ‘A Tea Caddy’; 1st: Helen Smith, 2nd: Liz Browne. The ballot was won by Heather Baird.


The meeting was chaired by new president, Glynis Alexander. Guest speaker was Shakila Simpson of Shamar Fashions, who gave a very interesting talk on her merchandise. A new member was welcomed - Lisa Campbell. The competition winner was May Wilson with her largest apple with Sandra Beggs a close second. Margaret Campbell was the ballot winner.