Call for renaming of Larne’s DEAs

editorial image
Share this article

Councillors have called on the Boundary Commissioner to rename the borough’s proposed new District Electoral Areas (DEAs) as Larne North and Larne South.

Currently, the borough is made up of three DEAs - Larne Town, Larne Lough and Coast Road.

However, as part of the planned shake-up of local council boundaries, Larne Town DEA will cease to exist.

And elected representatives feel the remaining two DEAs should be renamed in a bid to retain Larne’s identity under the planned Mid and East Antrim Council.