Personal best for Larne AC’s Baxter at Jimmy’s 10k race

Members of Larne AC at the Jimmy's 10k race in Downpatrick
Members of Larne AC at the Jimmy's 10k race in Downpatrick
Have your say

Sunday saw 36 members of Larne Athletic Club travel to Downpatrick to take part in the Jimmy’s 10k road race.

First home for the club was Sammy Drummond in a time of 37:57, followed soon after by Brian Heron (38:18). Billy Thompson was next in 39:11, while Nigel Kane had a strong run and finished in 39:49. Other times: Raymond Bannon (40:04), Thomas Craig (42:02), Dan Magill (43:30), Jackie Wallace (47:11). The first lady home for the club, in a new personal best, was Heather Baxter in a time of 48:19. Other times: Jayne Liddle (48:44), Mandy Johnston (50:08), Roberta Barham (51:47), Kerrianne Kearney (52:13), Kay Drummond (53:07), John Wright (53:55), Clare McGuiness (57:49) Marty McKay (58:55 pb), Judith Millar (58.58), Roger Barham (59:32), Lyndsey Dillon (59:52), Melissa Whiteside (1:01.30), Christine Kerr (1:02.31), Laura Brennan (1:03.03), Linda Moore (1:09.48), Heather Milliken (1:12.44), Rachel Bharma (1:18.28).

Larne also had five teams entered in the relay event. Ian Brennan and Rhonda Brady were the first team home in 43:20. Sharon Spence and Jacqui McKenna finished in 58:06. Tracy Mann and Rey Magill finished in 1:07.34, while mother-and-daughter pairing Arlene Thompson and Lori Wright, finished in 1.09.56. Lyn Kernohan and Judith Magill recorded a time of 1:14.37.

Glenariff Mountain Race

Eighty-three runners turned out to compete at the annual Glenariff Mountain Race.

Seven Larne AC members completed the race. Dale Smith was first home for the club in a time of 52:12 (23rd place). It was a personal best for Dale, who beat last year’s time by four minutes.

Martan Keane was next in 29th place with a time of 53:54, while Bryan Magee followed closely in 36th place (56:21). Andrew Beattie crossed the line in 61st (1:05:27).

The first lady home for Larne AC was Laura Hamill in 71st place in a time of 1:09:57. Laura achieved a personal best over this course, beating her 2013 effort by six minutess

Next in was Amy Beggs in 81st place with a time of 1:23:18. Helen Kane followed in 82nd with a time of 1:27:33 - another great run for a first-time mountain runner.

Results: 23, Dale Smith 52:12 (PB); 29, Martan Keane 53:54; 36, Bryan Magee 56:21; 61, Andrew Beattie 1:05:27; 71, Laura Hamill 1:09:57 (PB); 81, Amy Beggs 1:23:18; 82, Helen Keane 1:27:33.