Haggan wins his second title in Woodford Winter League

Darren Haggan is presented with the Woodford Winter League trophy by Darren Wallace. INLT 14-914-CON
Darren Haggan is presented with the Woodford Winter League trophy by Darren Wallace. INLT 14-914-CON
Have your say

Local man Darren Haggan has been crowned Woodford Greys Winter League champion, seeing off closest rival Gareth Morris by more than 100 points.

After six rounds, Haggan had caught 23 fish and gained a total of 984 points. Morris had landed 21 fish, with 858 points to his name. Back in third, with 18 catches, was Brian Kerr who tallied 779 points.

It’s the second time Haggan has won the competition and his success is made all the more remarkable given that he competed in just five of the six rounds, completing his five-fish limit on four occasions.

During the final round Haggan and Morris found fish on their second peg, fishing into the wind and using sinking line and lures. Morris was just 2-1 up at the move, Darren’s fish was one of Woodford’s Blue Trout.

Into the third move and Kerr got off the mark taking a 48cm fish followed by a 50cm both of which falling for small cdc emergers. By lunch, Morris had just a slim lead over the chasing field with 3 fish.

With the sun warming the air Haggan caught four fish on the spin to land the first five-fish bag of the day. He fished a Rio Midge Tip fly-line and black buzzers to complete his limit with all his fish over 40cm.

Irish Ladies’ captain Julie Gerry was next to reach the five-fish limit, including two good fish of 49cm and 46cm - again fishing buzzers to tempt the hungry trout.

Morris later picked up the two fish he needed to complete his bag, one of which measured 49cm.

It was the best round of this year’s Winter League by far with six bag-ups all over 205cm and only three blanks on the day. Top spot went to Ciaran Mellon with five fish for a good 223cm. Haggan took the runners-up position with five fish (217 cm) and third was Brian Kerr with five (215 cm).


1st, Darren Haggan (23 fish, 984 pts); 2nd, Gareth Morris (21 fish, 858 pts); 3rd, Brian Kerr (18 fish, 779pts); 4th, Ciaran Mellon (17 fish, 716 pts); 5th, Lenny Magee (16 fish, 664 pts): 6th, Julie Gerry (14 fish, 579 pts); 7th, Jonny Hoad (14 fish, 571pts); 8th, John Kellegher (13 fish, 549 pts); 9th, Hubert Smith (12 fish, 517 pts); 10th, Mark Carlisle (11 fish, 472 pts), 11th, Huw Morris (11 fish, 456 pts); 12th, Joe Hughes (10 fish, 437 pts); 13th, Declan Smith (nine fish, 374 pts).